Parish of Drumlease-Killargue

















St. Brigid's Church
Killargue (Cill Fhearga)


St. Brigid's Church. St. Brigid's Church.
  ' Killargue was an independent parish until 1969 when it was united with Drumlease. The ruins of a medieval church, which was built with limestone mortared masonry, are to be found in a rectangular graveyard at the back of the present St Brigid's Church at Killargue. The east and west walls are mostly missing. There is an external plinth on the north wall and three round, arched, splayed window openings in the south wall. A prominent holy well called Tobar Mhuire is situated nearby. Pilgrimages are held there on 15th August each year.

The ruins of another medieval church are to be found at Cloonlogher in a rectangular graveyard off the Killargue to Manorhamilton road. It was built with coursed masonry walls with dressed quoins which have survived virtually complete.

In 1791, while Fr John McGourty was parish priest, a thatched barn church was built in Killargue. Then in 1852 it was extended and a nave was added changing the rectangular building to a T-shaped one. Fr Stephen McTernan, who was born in the townland of Sheskin, was quite involved in the Tenant Rights Campaign, the Home Rule movement and the Cooperative Movement in the last decades of the nineteenth century. He died as parish priest of Killasnett in 1906. In 1961 the transepts of St Brigid's Church were removed and a front porch added. Side porches were added in 1991. This church has been used continuously since 1791 and is the oldest church still in use in the diocese. 'From: 'Churches of the Diocese of Kilmore' by Fr Liam Kelly - Published 2005.


Parish Priests from 1862:
Name  Appointed  Transferred/Died
James McPartlan 1862 1866(d.)
John Gaffney 1866 1880(d.)
Patrick McMorrow 1880 1904(tr.)
Charles Flynn 1904 1911(tr.)
Patrick Brady 1911 1915(d.)
Bernard Brady 1915 1919(tr.)
Francis Gilmartin 1919 1922(tr.)
Bartle McCabe 1922 1933(d.)
John Keany 1934 1955(d.)
John J. Donohoe 1956 1963(tr.)
Thomas Devaney 1963 1968(d.)
Michael J. Fox 1968 1969(tr.)
Killargue was united with Drumlease on 23rd August 1969.


Curates since 1835:

Name  Appointed  Transferred/Died
Hugh Cassidy 1835 1841
William McCauley 1841 1842
Patrick Trainor 1842 1845
Felix McHugh 1845 1849(d.)
James McPartlan 1849 1861
James Connolly 1861 1864
John Keany 1867 1869(d.)
Peter McCann 1869 1877(d.)
Patrick O'Reilly 1876 1880
Thomas Magauran 1880 1881
Thomas Brady 1881 1885
Philip Cooney 1885 1889
Thomas O'Reilly 1889 1894
James Fitzpatrick 1894 1895
Joseph C. Meehan 1895 1907
Patrick Donohoe 1907 1909
Terence MacDermott 1910 1911
John Brady 1911 1916
Daniel MacManus 1916 1923
John J. Murtagh 1922 1934
Patrick Connolly 1923 1934
John J. Donohoe 1934 1937
Nicholas J. Comey 1937 1938
Charles A. Cartwright 1938 1943
Patrick Gillick 1943 1944
Michael J. Fox 1944 1953
John A. Young 1953 1957
Edward Burns 1957 1962
Michael Cullivan 1962 1966
Charles Heery 1966 1968
Francis Kelleher 1968 1969
Killargue was united Drumlease and Creevelea with Inishmagrath on 23rd August 1969.
Eugene Clarke 1969 1980
Eamonn Lynch 1980 1983
John Phair 1983 1988
Maurice McMorrow 1988 1996
Noel Boylan 1996 2000
Eugene B. Dowd 2000 2006
John Sexton* 2006


*Chaplain and teacher in St. Clare's Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton. Priest in residence in Killargue.
From: 'Diocese of Kilmore - Bishops and Priests' by Francis J. McKiernan, Bishop of Kilmore - Published 1989.





Published by Drumlease - Killargue Parish Pastoral Council.
Last modified:
04/07/2020 22:48